Rules & regulations

The Gamay International Competition has been validated by the DGCCRF (part of the French Ministry of economy and finances). Only the wine competitions' medals listed on this DGCCRF list may be included in the wines labelling. See the list

RULES AND REGULATIONS’ EXTRACT OF THE CONCOURS INTERNATIONAL DU GAMAY

The complete Rules and Regulations document is available on request at Concours International du Gamay, Parc Du Peloux, 331 chemin de la Croix de Fer, 69400 Limas, France.

ARTICLE 1 : PURPOSE
The Gamay International Competition is organised by Armonia, located at Parc Du Peloux, 331 chemin de la Croix de Fer, 69400 Limas France, and Inter Beaujolais, located at 210 Bd Vermorel, 69400 Villefranche/Saône. The competition is open to all wines in the world (reds and rosés) with or without a geographical denomination and that are made using a majority of Gamay grapes (85% at least). Each wine must be in conformity with regulations in force in its country of origin. The goal of the Concours International du Gamay is to showcase high-quality wines.

ARTICLE 2: WINES AUTHORISED TO COMPETE
The following wines may take part in the competition: still wines, liqueur wines, sparkling and semi-sparkling wines.
In France the following wines are authorised: PDO, PGI, sparkling wines, semi-sparkling and liqueur wines, etc. With regard to wines having a protected designation of origin or a protected geographical indication, only those wines that have been the object of a declaration of claim (provided for in articles D. 644-5 and D. 646-6 of the Rural Code and the Code of Maritime Fishing) may participate in the competition. With regard to wines that do not have a protected geographical indication but are presented with an indication of vintage or grape variety, only those wines whose vintage or grape variety has been certified in conformity with the provisions of article R. 665-24 of the Rural Code and the Code of Maritime Fishing may participate in the competition.

ARTICLE 3: PROFESSIONALS AUTHORISED TO PRESENT WINES
The following professionals may participate: winemakers, wine cooperatives, associated wine cooperatives, groups of producers, producers, wine merchants, importers.

ARTICLE 4: HOMOGENEITY OF WINE LOTS
The wine sample presented to the Concours International du Gamay must come from a homogenous lot. The lot is made up of a wine produced for human consumption and stored in individual containers or in bulk. A homogenous lot is defined as a number of sales units of packaged wine, or containers of bulk wine, that were produced and, in the case of packaged wine, packaged under practically identical conditions. The wine in all the sales units or containers must also have similar organoleptic and analytical characteristics.

ARTICLE 6: SENDING SAMPLES
Each sample submitted to the Concours International du Gamay should be representative of the lot to which it belongs. If a wine is stored in bulk in various containers, samples should be taken from each and blended to form the final sample submitted to the Concours International du Gamay, with the volumes taken from each container reflecting the percentage of the total stored in that container.
For each wine registered, 3 samples of 0.5l or 0.75l shall be submitted. Sales labels in conformity with the regulations of the country of production or sale shall be affixed to the sample bottles before they are submitted. In any case, the identifying label should provide the same information and details as those appearing on the wine registration form.
Samples should arrive at the Concours International du Gamay ‘postage paid’, i.e., with shipping, customs duties and taxes paid by the sender. Bottles shall be sent at the participant’s expense and at his or her own risk. Any sample sent shipping due will be refused. Samples received that do not correspond to registration information or were not previously registered will not be presented for tasting and will remain the property of the Concours International du Gamay.

ARTICLE 7: REGISTRATION RULES
Registration fees must be paid in accordance with provisions laid down in Article 9. Payment methods are also described in detail in Article 9.
The information provided on both forms is binding on its author.
The following documents must be sent to the address given above in order to register for the Concours International du Gamay:
- an analysis report less than one year old (see article 8) for each wine.
And for France:
- the declaration of claim for wines with a protected designation of origin or a protected geographical indication,
- the request for certification for wines that do not have a protected geographical indication but are presented with an indication of vintage or grape variety.

Participants must indicate if they have any direct or indirect links with a wine taster on a jury so that the organisers can make sure this wine taster does not judge the participant’s wine.

ARTICLE 8: ANALYSIS REPORT
The analysis report should include information that makes it possible to identify the sample, along with the following analytical information:
- the actual and potential alcoholic strength by volume at 20°, expressed as % vol.;
- sugars (glucose + fructose), expressed in g/l;
- total acidity, expressed in mEq/l;
- volatile acidity, expressed in mEq/l;
- total sulphur dioxide content, expressed in mg/l;
- excess pressure from carbon dioxide for sparkling wine, expressed in bar;
For a period of one year, the Concours International du Gamay will keep a sample of award-winning wines, and their analysis reports, to make available to control organisations upon request. The participant should do the same. The wine form and analysis report will be kept on file and made available to agents responsible for controls for a period of five years from the competition date.

ARTICLE 9: REGISTRATION FEES
The amounts of registration fees are indicated on the participant form and on the site. They are given in euros, include all taxes and are the same for all countries: 45€ including VAT for each wine presented (37.50€ ex VAT).
- For France payment can be made with a personal cheque to the order of Armonia - Concours International du Gamay, or by bank transfer or credit card.
- For all other countries, in Europe and elsewhere, payment can be made by bank transfer or credit card.
In keeping with European legislation, services provided in France must be invoiced with French VAT for participants based in France or outside the European Union. Those who are in the EU (excluding France) with a VAT number will be invoiced ex-VAT.
The choice of payment method for the registration fees is made online in the participant’s personal space, after having completed the wine registration process. Credit card payment is made via a secure online payment system (Visa, Mastercard).
Payment should be made to the order of Armonia - Concours International du Gamay.
If registration fees for a wine have not been paid, the wine will not be allowed to take part in the competition.
The Concours International du Gamay is not responsible for paying bank fees. Credit cards are charged and checks are sent to the bank on the day the registration is recorded.
Registration fees cannot be reimbursed if, for example, samples or forms arrive after the deadline, if the wine does not receive a prize, or if the registration is cancelled for any reason.

Participants shall receive an invoice by email. If the participant does not have an email account, the invoice will be sent by fax or post, as requested.

ARTICLE 10: CALENDAR
The opening and closing dates for registrations, as well as the deadline for the samples reception are available upon request from the Concours International du Gamay, Parc Du Peloux, 331 chemin de la Croix de Fer, 69400 Limas, France. This information also can be found on the website www.concoursgamay.com.

ARTICLE 14: COMPOSITION OF JURIES
Juries are composed of jurors who are designated and called directly by the commissioner general from a list of jurors who have voluntarily registered on the International du Gamay’s website.
For each category of wine the jury will be composed of at least 3 persons. Two-thirds of the total number of jurors shall be competent wine tasters.
‘Competent wine taster’ is defined as a professional in the wine-making sector (oenologists, cellar masters, wine merchants, producers, cellar managers) or distribution (brokers, wholesalers, sommeliers, restaurant owners, importers, retailers) or consumers who are members of wine clubs or have taken courses in wine-tasting.
If one or more members of the jury are absent on the day of the tasting, the commissioner general may designate substitute jurors.
International du Gamay organisers will ask jury members to submit a solemn declaration indicating any direct or indirect ties they may have with any companies, establishments, professional organisations or associations whose activities, products or interests may be related to wines presented in the competition.
The commissioner general has the right to disqualify any juror, if necessary, to avoid having a competitor judge his own wine or for any other reason without having to justify it.

ARTICLE 16: DISTINCTIONS
The Concours International du Gamay grants the following awards:
- Gold Medal
- Silver Medal
The number of awards must not surpass one-third of the number of samples presented. The number of distinctions given for a category must not surpass one-third of the number of wines registered.
Medals representing the distinctions obtained may be affixed to bottles. They shall be available for award-winning wines. The number of medals provided will correspond to the volume declared when the wine is registered for the competition.
Prior authorisation must be obtained before reproducing or representing the medal or logo, whether completely or partially.

ARTICLE 17: INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY
Any reproduction or representation, either total or partial, of the medal, logo, name, or any part whatsoever of the website is strictly forbidden without prior written agreement. Reproduction of medals cannot be made without authorization, and the graphic representation cannot undergo any sort of modification, correction, or adaptation.
In every respect, and under all circumstances, the name, brand, and distinctive signs found on the site or any other medium developed and used by the International du Gamay are protected by copyright.

ARTICLE 18: CONTROLS
The Concours International du Gamay reserves the right to cancel any incomplete or erroneous registration and to eliminate any sample that does not conform to rules and regulations. It also reserves the right to have a certified wine analysis laboratory perform an analytical verification of award-winning samples and to take any subsequent steps it deems necessary. The Concours International du Gamay may take samples at sales points to verify that samples tasted correspond to bottles actually found for sale in stores or at the vineyard.

ARTICLE 19: USE OF THE « INTERNATIONAL DU GAMAY» BRAND NAME
Use of the “International du Gamay” brand name or the logo corresponding to the distinction awarded is subject to payment of a royalty or permit fee. Non-payment of fees shall nullify the concerned party’s right to use the brand name or logo. Any use of the brand name or logo outside the conditions defined in these rules and regulations, the graphics charter, or any other document to which it may refer, shall be considered fraudulent. In such a case, a 20% penalty shall be added to the fees (royalty or permit) levied for the entire lot under consideration.

ARTICLE 20: OBLIGATION OF PARTICIPANTS AND AVAILABILITY OF THE RULES & REGULATIONS
Participation in the Concours International du Gamay includes acceptance of these rules and regulations, which may be obtained upon request from the Concours International du Gamay, Parc Du Peloux, 331 chemin de la Croix de Fer, 69400 Limas, France.

ARTICLE 21: PENALTIES
A competition participant who has been found guilty of not respecting these rules and regulations shall be subject to the following: retraction of any awards received, exclusion from the competition, legal action instigated at the organisers’ request.

ARTICLE 23: APPLICABLE LAW - DISPUTES
These rules and regulations are subject to French law. The language of the rules and regulations is French.
In the case of any dispute or legal action taken against the Concours International du Gamay or the Armonia Company, Courts of Villefranche-sur-Saône (France) shall be the only competent authority regardless of the nationalities of the parties to the conflict.

Le règlement

Le Concours International du Gamay a été validé par la DGCCRF. Seules les médailles des concours vinicoles référencés sur la liste de la DGCCRF (Ministère de l’Economie et des Finances) peuvent figurer dans l’étiquetage des vins. Voir la liste

EXTRAIT DU REGLEMENT DU CONCOURS INTERNATIONAL DU GAMAY

ARTICLE 1 : OBJET
L'International du Gamay est organisé par Armonia situé au Parc Du Peloux, 331 chemin de la Croix de Fer, 69400 Limas et Inter Beaujolais situé au 210 Bd Vermorel, 69400 Villefranche/Saône. Il s’adresse à tous les vins du monde (rouges et rosés) avec ou sans indication géographique élaborés majoritairement à partir du cépage Gamay (85% minimum). Chaque vin doit être conforme à la réglementation en vigueur dans son pays. L'International du Gamay a pour but de mettre en avant les vins de qualité.

ARTICLE 2 : LES VINS AUTORISES A CONCOURIR
Sont autorisés à concourir les vins tranquilles, les vins effervescents (vins mousseux et vins pétillants).
En France les vins autorisés sont les suivants: AOP, IGP, VDF, VM, VP. Pour les vins bénéficiant d’une appellation d’origine protégée ou d’une indication géographique protégée, seuls les vins dont la déclaration de revendication prévue aux articles D. 644-5 et D. 646-6 du code rural et de la pêche maritime a été effectuée, peuvent participer à ce concours. Pour les vins ne bénéficiant pas d’une indication géographique et qui sont présentés avec une indication de millésime ou de cépage, seuls ceux dont le millésime ou le cépage a fait l’objet d’une certification conformément aux dispositions de l’article R. 665-24 du code rural et de la pêche maritime peuvent participer au concours.

ARTICLE 3 : LES PROFESSIONNELS AUTORISES A PRESENTER DES VINS
Sont admis à participer les professionnels suivants : les vignerons récoltants, les coopératives vinicoles, les unions de coopératives vinicoles, les groupements de producteurs, les producteurs, les négociants, les importateurs.

ARTICLE 4 : HOMOGENEITE DU LOT DU VIN
L’échantillon de vin présenté au concours International du Gamay par un compétiteur est issu d’un lot homogène. Ce lot est constitué d’un vin destiné à la consommation, conditionné ou en vrac. On entend par lot homogène un ensemble d’unités de vente d’un vin conditionné ou de contenants d’un vin en vrac qui a été élaboré et, le cas échéant, conditionné dans des conditions pratiquement identiques et qui présente des caractéristiques organoleptiques et analytiques similaires.

ARTICLE 6 : ENVOI DES ECHANTILLONS
Tout échantillon présenté au concours International du Gamay est représentatif du lot auquel il appartient. Lorsqu’un lot de vin présenté au concours International du Gamay est stocké en vrac dans différents contenants, l’échantillon présenté au concours est composé de l’assemblage des échantillons prélevés dans chacun des contenants et assemblés au prorata des volumes de ces contenants.
Les échantillons peuvent être prélevés par un représentant du concours International du Gamay, une société extérieure ou toute personne dûment mandatée. Il pourra s’agir du producteur ou compétiteur lui-même à condition qu’il s’engage sur l’honneur sur la représentativité des échantillons du lot présenté.
Pour chaque vin inscrit, 3 échantillons de 0,5l ou 0,75l devront être présentés. Les bouteilles d’échantillons seront prioritairement habillées avec l’étiquette de commercialisation conforme à la réglementation du pays de production ou de commercialisation. Dans tous les cas l’étiquette d’identification devra mentionner les mêmes informations et précisions que celles figurant sur le formulaire d'inscription du vin.
Les échantillons doivent parvenir au concours International du Gamay franco domicile (frais de port, douane et taxes à charge de l'expéditeur). L’expédition est faite aux frais du participant et à ses risques et périls. Tout échantillon envoyé en port dû sera refusé. Les échantillons reçus ne correspondant pas à l’inscription ou n'ayant pas fait l'objet d'une inscription préalable ne seront pas présentés à la dégustation et resteront la propriété du concours International du Gamay.

ARTICLE 7 : REGLES D’INSCRIPTION
Un participant doit donner différentes informations nécessaires à l’ouverture d’un compte. Il doit aussi remplir une fiche d’inscription par vin présenté, appelé formulaire vin. Il peut le faire de deux manières, par courrier ou par internet.
Inscription par courrier : Le formulaire participant et le formulaire vin dûment remplis doivent être retournés à l'adresse suivante : International du Gamay - Parc Du Peloux, 331 chemin de la Croix de Fer - 69400 LIMAS - France. Les formulaires sont disponibles sur le site Internet du concours www.concoursgamay.com ci-après dénommé le "Site" ou sur simple demande.
Inscription par internet :
a) Le participant doit ouvrir un compte sur le Site. Il disposera ensuite d’un compte personnel afin de présenter ses vins. L’ouverture d’un compte est gratuite.
b) Un formulaire doit être complété sur le Site pour chaque vin présenté. Il est disponible sur le Site depuis le compte personnel du participant.

Le paiement des droits d’inscription doit être effectué conformément aux dispositions prévues à l’Article 9. Les modes de paiement sont également détaillés à l’Article 9.
Les indications mentionnées sur les deux formulaires engagent la responsabilité de leur auteur.
Sont obligatoires pour l'inscription au concours International du Gamay, l'envoi des documents suivants à l'adresse précitée dans cet article :
- un bulletin d’analyses par vin datant de moins d’un an (voir article 8).
Et pour la France
- la déclaration de revendication pour les vins bénéficiant d’une appellation d’origine protégée ou d’une indication géographique protégée
- la demande de certification pour les vins ne bénéficiant pas d’une indication géographique présentés avec une indication de millésime ou de cépage.
Tout participant doit signaler s’il est lié, directement ou indirectement à un dégustateur faisant partie du jury afin que les organisateurs prennent les mesures appropriées pour qu’il ne juge pas ses vins.

ARTICLE 8 : BULLETIN D’ANALYSES :
Le bulletin d'analyses doit comporter les éléments permettant d’identifier l’échantillon ainsi que les valeurs des paramètres analytiques suivants :
– les titres alcoométriques volumiques acquis et en puissance à 20°C, exprimés en % vol. ;
– les sucres (glucose+fructose), exprimés en g/l ;
– l’acidité totale, exprimée en méq/l ;
– l’acidité volatile, exprimée en méq/l ;
– l’anhydride sulfureux total, exprimé en mg/l ;
– la surpression due à l’anhydride carbonique pour les vins mousseux, exprimée en bars ;
L'International du Gamay conservera pendant un an un échantillon témoin du vin primé et son bulletin d’analyses, et le tiendra à disposition des services de contrôle. Le participant se doit d’en faire autant. La fiche de renseignements et le bulletin d’analyses seront tenus à la disposition des agents chargés des contrôles pendant une période de cinq ans à compter de la date de déroulement du concours.

ARTICLE 9 : DROITS D’INSCRIPTION
Les montants des droits d’inscription sont indiqués sur le formulaire participant et sur le Site. Ils sont en euros toutes taxes comprises et identiques pour tous les pays du monde.
Droits d’inscription : 45 € TTC par vin présenté (37.50€ HT)
- Pour la France les règlements se font soit par chèque bancaire à l’ordre de Armonia - International du Gamay, soit par virement bancaire ou soit par carte bancaire.
- Pour l’Europe et le reste du monde les règlements se font soit par virement bancaire ou soit par carte bancaire.
Conformément à la législation européenne, les prestations de services situées en France doivent être facturées avec la TVA française pour les participants établis en France et hors de l’Union européenne. Les participants de l’Union Européenne (hors France) justifiant d’un numéro de TVA seront facturés hors taxes.
Sur Internet le choix du mode de paiement des frais d’inscription se fait en ligne dans l’espace personnel du participant et ce après avoir réalisé l’inscription des vins. Le règlement par Carte Bancaire est effectué via le système de paiement en ligne sécurisé (Visa, Mastercard).
Les paiements sont réglés à Armonia – International du Gamay.
Les vins dont les frais d'inscription n'auront pas été acquittés ne seront pas admis à participer au concours.
Les frais de banque ne sont pas pris en charge par l'International du Gamay. Le débit des cartes bancaires ou de paiement ou la mise à l'encaissement du chèque s'effectue à la date d'enregistrement de l’inscription.
Les droits d’inscription ne pourront faire l’objet d’un remboursement, si les échantillons ou les dossiers arrivent après la date limite, si le vin concerné n'est pas primé ou quels que soient les motifs d’annulation d’une inscription.
Une facture sera envoyée au participant par email. Si ce dernier n’a pas d’email le justificatif sera envoyé par fax ou par courrier, à sa demande.

ARTICLE 10 : CALENDRIER
La date d’ouverture et de clôture des inscriptions, ainsi que la date limite de réception des échantillons est disponible sur simple demande adressée au Concours International du Gamay, Parc Du Peloux, 331 chemin de la Croix de Fer, 69400 LIMAS. Ces informations sont aussi accessibles via le site internet concoursgamay.com

ARTICLE 14: COMPOSITION DES JURYS
Les jurys sont composés de jurés, désignés et convoqués par le commissaire général directement par ses soins grâce à une liste d’inscription volontaire des jurés sur le site internet du concours International du Gamay.
Pour chaque catégorie de vin le jury sera composé au minimum de 3 personnes dont les deux tiers au moins sont des dégustateurs compétents.
Par dégustateur compétent on entend des professionnels de la filière viticole (œnologues, maitres de chais, cavistes, viticulteurs, responsables de cave) ou de la distribution (courtiers, négociants, sommeliers, restaurateurs, importateurs, détaillants) ou de consommateurs membres de clubs œnophiles ou ayant suivi une formation à la dégustation.
Dans le cas où des membres du jury seraient absents, le commissaire général peut désigner des suppléants.

Les organisateurs du concours International du Gamay demanderont une déclaration sur l’honneur aux membres de jury mentionnant leurs liens, directs ou indirects, avec les entreprises, établissements, organisations professionnelles ou associations dont les activités, produits ou intérêts peuvent concerner les vins présentés au concours.
Le commissaire général pourra récuser tout juré, afin d’éviter qu’un compétiteur membre d’un jury ne juge ses propres vins, ou pour toute autre raison que ce soit sans avoir à le motiver.

ARTICLE 16 : DISTINCTIONS
L'International du Gamay décerne les récompenses suivantes :
- Médaille d’Or
- Médaille d’Argent
Le nombre de récompenses ne doit pas représenter plus d’un tiers des échantillons présentés. Le nombre de distinctions attribuées pour une catégorie ne doit pas représenter plus du tiers des vins inscrits.
Les participants seront avisés ultérieurement des résultats par courrier si leurs vins sont sélectionnés. Ce courrier sera le document officiel du concours précisant, le nom du concours, la nature de la distinction attribuée, l’identité du vin, la catégorie dans laquelle il a concouru, le volume déclaré ainsi que le nom et adresse du détenteur.
Des médailles représentatives des distinctions attribuées pourront être appliquées sur la bouteille et seront disponibles pour les vins primés. Le nombre de médailles sera fourni en fonction du volume déclaré lors de l’inscription.
Toute reproduction ou représentation totale ou partielle des médailles ou du logo est soumise à autorisation et à paiement de droits. (Voir article 19)

ARTICLE 17 - PROPRIETE INTELLECTUELLE
Toute reproduction ou représentation totale ou partielle de la médaille, du logo, du nom, ou de tout ou partie des éléments se trouvant sur le Site est strictement interdite sans autorisation préalable. Toute reproduction des médailles ne pourra se faire que sur autorisation et ne pourra faire l’objet d’aucune modification, rectification, adaptation quelles qu’elles soient.
De manière générale, les dénominations sociales, marques et signes distinctifs reproduits sur le Site ou tout autre support diffusé et développé par l'International du Gamay sont protégés au titre du droit des marques.

ARTICLE 18 : CONTROLES
Le concours International du Gamay se réserve le droit d’annuler toute inscription incomplète ou erronée et d’éliminer tout échantillon non conforme au règlement. Le concours International du Gamay se réserve le droit de faire procéder, par un laboratoire d’analyses œnologiques agréé, à un contrôle analytique des échantillons primés et d’y donner la suite qui lui semble nécessaire. Le concours International du Gamay se réserve le droit d’effectuer des prélèvements sur les lieux de vente pour vérifier que les échantillons dégustés correspondent à ceux trouvés dans le commerce ou en vente à la propriété.
Les organisateurs du concours International du Gamay mettent en place un organisme de contrôle interne, sous la responsabilité du commissaire général, chargé de veiller au respect du présent règlement. Il vérifie notamment que les points suivants sont respectés : conformité des documents à l’inscription, anonymat des vins pendant la dégustation, sélection des jurés selon les critères de l’article 14, attribution des distinctions conforme à l’article 16.

ARTICLE 19 : UTILISATION DE LA MARQUE « International du Gamay»
L’utilisation de la marque « L'International du Gamay » ou du logo de la distinction est soumis au paiement d’une redevance ou dérogation. Le non-paiement de la redevance exclut le droit d’utiliser la marque ou le logo. De plus toute utilisation en dehors des conditions définies dans le présent règlement, la charte graphique ou dans tout autre document auquel il pourra être renvoyé sera considéré comme une fraude. Elle entraînera le paiement des droits (redevance ou dérogation) de la totalité du lot considéré, majorés d’une pénalité de 20%.

ARTICLE 20 : OBLIGATION DES PARTICIPANTS ET DISPONIBILITE DU REGLEMENT
La participation à l'International du Gamay comporte l’acceptation du présent règlement qui est disponible sur simple demande adressée à International du Gamay, Parc Du Peloux, 331 chemin de la Croix de Fer, 69400 LIMAS.

ARTICLE 21 : SANCTIONS
Un compétiteur qui serait convaincu du non-respect du présent règlement encourt les sanctions suivantes : retrait des distinctions éventuellement obtenues, exclusion du concours, poursuites pénales demandées par les organisateurs.

ARTICLE 23 : DROIT APPLICABLE – LITIGES
Le présent règlement est soumis à la loi française. La langue du présent règlement est la langue française.
En cas de contestation ou de litige avec le concours International du Gamay ou la société Armonia, et quelle que soit la nationalité des parties en conflit, les Tribunaux de Villefranche-sur-Saône (France) sont seuls compétents.