You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

Gamay grape variety

Did you know ?

There are several types of Gamay. The most well-known is the 'Gamay Noir à Jus Blanc' (black skinned with white juice) and its many clones. But there are also the Gamay Fréaux, the 'Gamay de Chaudenay' and the 'Gamay de Bouze' which not only have a black skin but also have a more or less coloured juice. Many synonyms and other related varieties of Gamay exist :

See the Gamay varieties


Characteristics :

The Black skinned Gamay with white juice has pink downy buds. Its' leaves are shiny, yellowish green. Fully grown leaves are round with 3 or 5 lobes depending on the selection, have V-shaped sinus petioles which are more or less open, relatively short angular serrated edges and smooth stems.
In Autumn the leaves turn partially red. The herbaceous limbs develop a copper coloured hue on the inter-nodes which are sun exposed. The grape berry clusters can be differently shaped according to the selection, ranging from the small clustered clone 565 to the long, well supported clone 656.
The clusters have elliptically shaped berries of which a certain percentage have stopped their development (partial abortion) since the Gamay variety is sensitive to climatic change during florescence.
The grape berries are a violet- black colour with a bluish waxy coating and a thin skin which means that the Gamay grape is sensitive to rot. The pulp of the Black skinned Gamay with white juice is colourless.

Aptitudes :

Gamay is a grape variety with an early bud break ,which means it is sensitive to spring frosts. It offsets this handicap by developing secondary buds. It has a short vegetative cycle which allows it to be qualified as an early grape variety. It is not particularly sturdy and has a variable growth depending on the variety.
It has a great capacity for adaptation, (except to climates that are extremely hot) and can be found in numerous French vineyards as well as abroad, even if it's elected soil remains the granitic slopes of the Beaujolais region.
The Gamay grape is sensitive to disease, especially powdery mildew and noble rot.

Historical origins :

The Gamay variety is mostly found in the Burgundy, Beaujolais and Macon regions. This was not always the case: it was in the 3rd century AD under roman influence that vines were first planted in the region surrounding Lyon. Before this time they were only found in the south in and around the Mediterranean region.
As far as the grape variety itself is concerned, it is impossible to locate its origins. Was it the Romans who introduced the variety or was it already present on French soil?

Biological origins :

The Gamay can trace it's origins back to the family of creeper plants (Ampelidaceae) . It belongs to the vitis vinifera species which groups together all vine plants capable of producing wine. It has evolved from the natural hybridisation of the Gouais B and pinot N variety. 20 other grape varieties originate from this cross.
The Gouais is a grape variety that has almost disappeared. It's implantation was widespread in the middle ages. Highly productive and acid, it can produce wine in large quantities which is easy to conserve.
The Pinot (bourguignon and champenois) is still cultivated today. It is the hallmark of a fine wine.
Two ancestors of a completely different type, one with a potential for quantity yield, the other with a potential for quality, one white, the other red, one which has almost disappeared, the other which is still cultivated… but which have combined to produce a quality hybrid.

Origine du Gamay

World distribution :

In 2000 the Gamay variety covered around 37 000 hectares worldwide, 34 000 hectares of which are in France and of which 23 000 are found in the Beaujolais region. The 3000 remaining hectares are scattered across the globe :
See the Gamay in the world

Tasting appreciations :

The Gamay variety produces a red ,fruity, supple wine which can be drunk young.

Glossary :

Hybridisation : Hybridisation or cross breeding is the sexed cross, be it natural or controlled (flower pollination, castration ) between two grape varieties which thereby produces a new variety.
Coloured/tinted : A coloured/tinted Gamay is the result of the mutation of a Gamay N variety which produces grapes with a coloured pulp.
Mutant : A mutant is a being which has undergone a transformation of its genetic make-up. Genetic mutation occurs naturally. The phenomenon is due to physical or chemical changes of the DNA as a result of, for example, the radiation of the sun's rays. If these changes affect the reproductive cells, they will be passed onto descendants. Depending on the characteristics they produce the characteristics will be retained (favourable mutation) or eliminated (negative mutation) by natural selection.
Clone : A clone is a vegetative descendant which is conform to a chosen strain chosen for its identity, phenotype (agronomical) and sanitary characteristics.
The bud break : this is a moment of the year when the buds develop and the down becomes visible. This term refers to the young leaves and flowers which are concealed within the buds, and which consequently develop.
Secondary buds : these develop when the primary buds have been destroyed by frost or another cause.
Early grape variety : in the Pulliat classification system early varieties are qualified as being those which mature 10 days before the reference grape variety : the Chasselas doré.
The Pulliat classification system : this is the classification method which defines grape varieties according to their maturity compared to that of the reference variety ( the chasselas doré) An early variety is one which matures ten days before the Chasselas variety.First period varieties mature at the same time as the chasselas. Second period varieties mature 24 to 35 days after the Chasselas.Third period varieties mature 36 days after the Chasselas. This classification is still in use. It has been revised and corrected by the University of California, Davis (Winkler and Amerine) who proposed the Winkler scale as a classification tool by integrating temperature as part of the maturation calculation.

References : Onivins - Inter Beaujolais - OIV (Organisation Internationale de la Vigne et du Vin) - 1970/2010 Beaujolais Sicarex

You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

Le cépage Gamay

Le saviez-vous ?

Il existe plusieurs types de gamay. Le plus connu étant le gamay noir à jus blanc ainsi que ses nombreux clones. Mais on trouve également le gamay Fréaux, le gamay de Chaudenay et le gamay de Bouze qui eux ont non seulement une peau noire mais aussi un jus plus ou moins coloré. De nombreux synonymes et autres variétés existent autour du gamay :

Voir les variétés du Gamay


Caractéristiques :

Le Gamay noir à jus blanc se caractérise par un bourgeonnement légèrement duveteux à pointe rosée, de jeunes feuilles d'un vert jaunâtre, brillantes à plages bronzées, des feuilles adultes rondes à 3 ou 5 lobes selon les sélections avec un sinus pétiolaire en V plus ou moins ouvert, des dents anguleuses assez courtes, un limbe pratiquement glabre (uni).
A l'automne le feuillage rougit partiellement. Les rameaux herbacés prennent une couleur cuivrée, sur les entre-noeuds, face exposée au soleil.
Les grappes peuvent être de formes très différentes selon les sélections, de la petite grappe du clone 565 à la grappe longue et épaulée du clone 656.
Ces grappes présentent des baies de forme elliptique dont un certain pourcentage sont millerandées (avortement partiel des grains de raisin), car le Gamay est sensible aux conditions climatiques durant la floraison.
Les baies sont de couleur noire violacée avec une pruine (couche cireuse) bleue et une peau fine qui rend le Gamay sensible à la pourriture. La pulpe du Gamay noir à jus blanc est incolore.

Aptitudes :

Le Gamay est un cépage au débourrement précoce, ce qui le rend sensible aux gelées de printemps. Il compense ce handicap par une certaine fertilité sur ses contre-bourgeons. Il a un cycle végétatif court lui permettant de se caractériser comme un cépage précoce (1ère époque). Il est peu vigoureux, avec un port très variable selon les sélections.
Doté d'une grande capacité d'adaptation, hormis en climat trop chaud on le retrouve dans de nombreux vignobles français mais aussi étrangers même si sa terre de prédilection reste les coteaux granitiques du Beaujolais.
Le Gamay est sensible à l'ensemble des maladies, notamment à l'oidium et au botrytis.

Origine historique :

Actuellement, le gamay est en grande majorité représenté en France dans la Bourgogne, le Beaujolais et le Mâconnais. Mais il n'en fut pas toujours ainsi : c'est au troisième siècle après JC, sous l'influence des Romains que l'on commença à planter des pieds de vignes dans la région lyonnaise. Auparavant, on n'en trouvait que dans le sud est, région méditerranéenne.
En ce qui concerne le cépage en lui–même, on ne peut certifier avec précision sa provenance : est ce que ce sont les Romains qui nous l'ont implanté, ou était il déjà présent sur nos sols ?

Origine biologique :

Le « Gamay n » est issu de la famille des ampélidées (plante lianes). Il appartient à l'espèce vitis vinifera qui regroupe tous les plants de vigne capable de produire du vin. Il est né de l'hybridation naturelle du Gouais B et du pinot N. 20 autres cépages sont issus de ce métissage.
Le Gouais est un cépage qui a presque disparu. Il était très répandu au Moyen-Age. Très productif et acide, il permettait d'avoir des quantités de vin importantes qui se conservaient bien.
Le Pinot, bourguignon et champenois, est toujours cultivé de nos jours. Il est la signature de grands vins.
Des ancêtres opposés, l'un qualitatif et l'autre productif, l'un rouge et l'autre blanc, l'un encore cultivé et l'autre disparu…, qui ont donné le meilleur.

Origine du Gamay

Répartition dans le monde :

En 2000 le Gamay représentait environ 37 000 hectares dans le monde, 34 000 hectares se trouvent en France et dont 23000 se situent dans le Beaujolais. Les 3000 hectares restant sont éparpillés de part et d'autres du monde :
Voir le Gamay dans le monde

Commentaires de dégustation :

Le Gamay donne des vins rouges fruités et souples pouvant être bus jeunes. Ce cépage offre des arômes de fraise, de cerise, de raisin frais et noyau ainsi que des arômes caractéristiques de bonbon anglais et banane pour les Beaujolais nouveaux.

Glossaire :

Hybridation/Métissage : L'hybridation ou le métissage est un croisement sexué naturel ou contrôlé (castration et pollinisation des fleurs) entre 2 cépages donnant ainsi un nouveau cépage.
Teinturiers : Un Gamay teinturier est né d'une mutation sur un Gamay N donnant des baies à pulpe colorée.
Mutation : Un mutant est un individu ayant subi une modification de son information génétique. Des mutations génétiques apparaissent spontanément dans la nature. Elles sont dues à des altérations physiques ou chimiques de l'ADN provoquées, par exemple, par le rayonnement solaire. Si elles touchent les cellules reproductrices, elles sont transmises dans la descendance de la plante. Suivant le caractère qu'elles affectent, elles seront soit conservées (mutations favorables) soit éliminées (mutations délétères) par la sélection naturelle.
Sélection clonale : Un clone est la descendance végétative conforme à une souche choisie pour son identité, ses caractéristiques phénotypiques (agronomiques) et sanitaires.
Débourrement : Le débourrement est le moment de l'année où les bourgeons des arbres se développent pour laisser apparaître leur bourre (terme désignant le duvet et les jeunes feuilles et fleurs enfouies dans les bourgeons de nombreux arbres) puis ses feuilles et fleurs.
Contre-bourgeons : Bourgeon supplémentaire qui se développe quand le premier bourgeon a été détruit par la gelée ou autre cause.
Cépage précoce : Dans la classification Pulliat correspond aux cépages arrivant à maturité 10 jours avant le cépage de référence : le Chasselas doré.
Classification Pulliat : Méthode de classement des cépages selon leur date de maturation par rapport au cépage le Chasselas (Chasselas doré). Cépage précoce : Maturité obtenue 10 jours avant le Chasselas. Cépage de première époque : Maturité obtenue aux mêmes dates que le Chasselas. Cépage de deuxième époque : Maturité de 12 à 23 jours après le Chasselas. Cépage de deuxième époque : Maturité obtenue de 24 à 35 jours après le Chasselas. Cépage de troisième époque : Maturation au-delà de 36 jours après le Chasselas. Cette classification a toujours cours. Elle a été revue et corrigée par les américains de l'université Davis (Winkler et Amerine) qui ont proposé l'échelle de Winkler qui intègre la température dans le calcul de la maturation.

Sources : Onivins - Inter Beaujolais - OIV (Organisation Internationale de la Vigne et du Vin) - 1970/2010 Beaujolais Sicarex