You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

Gamay International Competition

The Gamay International Competition is organized by Inter Beaujolais (Beaujolais Wines’ Federation) and Armonia (International Competitions Organizer).

The Gamay International Competition’s goals are:
- To select and promote the best Gamays of the world.
- To enhance the Gamay’s image and awareness towards the consumers.
- To unveil the Gamay’s grape diversity and strengths throughout the world
to producers, decision-makers and consumers.

In many countries, one of the first criteria concerning a wine selection is the grape variety. It is therefore essential to provide clear information concerning the general and specific characteristics and qualities of the Gamay variety. Especially considering that this variety fits perfectly with current expectations: a fruity, easy wine with low tannin, yet interesting complexity and true ageing potential (5, 10 years or more) and which can also be found as a Rosé.

Each year, 130 tasters, composed of experts and professionals of the wine sector, evaluate more than 600 samples.
The grading grid used by jury members is scaled out of 100 points. It has been created especially for the Gamay grape variety and taking care of the OIV grid criteria. It takes into account 4 essentials key points: the eyesight, the sense of smell, taste and the general aspect.

As soon as the wines are tasted and graded, the Gamay International Competition awards: Gold or Silver Medal, to the wines which best embody the qualities of this grape variety.

Since 2015, at the end of a competition a ‘Grand Jury’ re-tastes the gold medal winners with the best scores to determine which is the World’s Best Gamay, and a trophy for this supreme award is given to the winner at the awards ceremony.

Award-winners' testimony

This competition is opened to wine makers from the whole world whose wines are made using Gamay grapes (85% at least). The producers who would wish to participate must subscribe by mail, or online following this link:

Register

Le concours

Make your distinctions known

Metal plates are a wonderful sales tool. They can be used to call consumers’ attention to the fact that your wines have been awarded medals, and are recognised as being some of the best in their categories.

Decision-makers

News about the International Gamay Competition and its results are channeled to many decision-makers in the wine world: wine merchants, journalists (general public, wine world, magazines, newspapers, etc.), importers, oenologists, sommeliers, etc.
This communication helps make the competition-and its medals-more famous and widely known. Decision-makers need to be reassured that they are making the right choice when purchasing or selecting a wine, and a medal from the competition guarantees its quality. Naturally! Because it was selected by a jury of experts.

The best Gamay

A ‘Grand Jury’ re-tastes the gold medal winners to determine which is the World’s Best Gamay. A trophy will be bestowed on the winner when award certificates are delivered.

Certified competition

This certification demonstrates to producers the involvement of the Gamay Competition in showcasing their work. Consumers, for their part, will see it as a sign of rigorous selection, high quality and a competition worthy of their trust.

You are using an outdated browser. For a faster, safer browsing experience, upgrade for free today.

Concours International du Gamay

Le concours International du Gamay est organisé par Inter Beaujolais (Interprofession des vins du Beaujolais) et Armonia (organisateur de concours Internationaux).

Les objectifs de l’International du Gamay sont les suivants :
- Sélectionner et promouvoir les meilleurs Gamay dans le monde.
- Renforcer l'image et la notoriété du cépage Gamay auprès des consommateurs.
- Faire découvrir la diversité et les atouts du cépage Gamay dans le monde
auprès des producteurs, prescripteurs et consommateurs.

Dans de nombreux pays, l'un des premiers critères de sélection d'un vin est le cépage. Il est donc essentiel de faire découvrir les caractéristiques, les particularités et les qualités du Gamay. D'autant plus que celui-ci correspond parfaitement aux attentes actuelles des consommateurs : un vin fruité, gouleyant, peu tannique et présentant une complexité intéressante plus méconnue, une réelle aptitude de garde (5, 10 ans voire plus…) et qui se décline aussi en Rosé.

Chaque année, 130 dégustateurs, composés d'experts et de professionnels du vin, jugent plus de 600 échantillons.
La grille de notation utilisée par les jurys est sur une échelle de 100. Elle a été réalisée spécialement pour le cépage Gamay et en tenant compte de la grille crée par l’OIV. Elle prend en compte les 4 critères essentiels : vue, odorat, goût, aspect général.

Une fois les vins dégustés et notés, l’International du Gamay décerne les récompenses : Médaille d'Or ou d'Argent, aux vins incarnant le mieux les qualités de ce cépage.

Depuis 2015 à l’issue du concours, un « Grand Jury » re-déguste les médaillés d’or les mieux notés afin de déterminer le Meilleur Gamay du Monde. Le trophée de cette récompense ultime est remis au lauréat lors de la remise des diplômes.

Témoignages des lauréats du Trophée

Ce concours s'adresse à l'ensemble des producteurs du monde dont les vins sont élaborés à partir de gamay (minimum à 85%). Les opérateurs souhaitant participer doivent s'inscrire par courrier ou par Internet :

S'inscrire

Le concours

Annoncez vos distinctions

Les plaques métalliques sont un formidable outil d'aide à la vente, elles vous permettent de signaler aux consommateurs que vos vins sont médaillés et qu'ils sont reconnus comme faisant partie des meilleurs de leur catégorie.

Les prescipteurs

Les actualités et les résultats du Concours International du Gamay sont relayés auprès de nombreux prescripteurs : cavistes, journalistes (grand public, monde du vin, magazine, journaux...), importateurs, œnologue, sommeliers...
Cette communication permet d'augmenter la notoriété et la visibilité du concours, et donc de ses médailles. Les prescripteurs ont besoin d'être rassurés dans leur achat ou dans leur choix. La médaille est une garantie de vins de qualité, sélectionné par un jury d'experts.

Le meilleur Gamay

Un "grand jury" re-dégustera les vins médaillées d'or afin de déterminer le Meilleur Gamay du Monde. Un trophée sera remis au lauréat lors de la remise des diplômes.

Concours certifié

Cette certification permet d'assurer aux producteurs l'implication du Concours du Gamay pour valoriser leur travail. Les consommateurs quant à eux y verront le signe d'une sélection rigoureuse, gage de qualité et de confiance.